关于 CJ Dropshipping
CJ直销

CJ直销

您销售,我们为您采购和发货!

CJdropshipping 是一个一站式解决方案平台,提供包括采购、运输和仓储在内的各种服务。

CJ Dropshipping 的目标是帮助国际电子商务企业家取得商业成功。

什么是最小起订量? 电子商务最小起订量完整指南

什么是最小起订量? 电子商务最小起订量完整指南

发布内容

如果您曾经使用过阿里巴巴或其他批发平台,那么您可能已经看到了 MOQ 这个词。 你知道最小起订量是什么意思以及它是如何工作的吗? 本文全面介绍了 MOQ 是什么。

以下部分还介绍了有关最小起订量的常见常见问题解答。 希望我们提供的信息可以帮助您了解最小起订量是如何工作的,以及如何与供应商协商起订量。

现在,让我们开始吧。

什么是最小起订量? 所有你需要知道的关于最小起订量。

什么是最小起订量?

MOQ,代表最小订购数量,已记录在 城市词典 自2008年以来,供应商愿意一次性向买方出售的产品数量最少。 例如,如果产品的最小起订量为 100 件,那么您必须购买 100 件才能获得该产品。

起订量通常在不同产品的不同测量中提及。 对于廉价的日常生活用品,起订量通常在 100-200 件左右。 对于大型电子设备,起订量通常会低得多。

此外,起订量也广泛用于品牌推广。 如果零售商想在产品上打印自己的标志,供应商可能会为产品设置最小起订量。 由于标识印刷过程会耗费大量预算和人工,大多数供应商不愿意为小型企业支付这样的费用。

为什么供应商需要最小起订量?

起订量确保供应商的利润

大多数时候,起订量通常用于批发业务,以让供应商确保他们的利润。 因为有的产品单卖利润微薄或者根本不赚钱,任何一种生意都不应该搞亏本销售。

此外,市场上有许多产品没有可持续的库存。 如果您希望供应商为您提供这些产品,他们将需要生产一批新的库存。 这意味着他们可能需要雇用更多劳动力并在新项目上花费更多预算。 在这种情况下,如果供应商不销售大量产品,他们将无法赚取任何利润。

另一方面,许多零售商不喜欢最小起订量,因为他们更喜欢一个一个地销售产品,以防他们无法出售他们购买的所有库存。 此外,高起订量也限制了小企业主销售一些潜力巨大的产品。

因此,设置低 MOQ 可能不是供应商发展可持续业务的理想选择。 而且设置高起订量不利于吸引客户。 因此,对于供应商来说,找到一个能够满足双方的平衡起订量非常重要。

起订量确保供应商的利润

起订量让业务变得更顺畅

拥有最小起订量的另一个好处是它为卖家保留了一个简单的商业模式。 通常,制造商和工厂更愿意将产品出售给大宗买家,而不是只购买单一产品的客户。 因为个体卖家会带来制造商想要避免的无穷无尽的麻烦。

在这个模型中,供应商可以使用最小起订量来选择理想的买家并过滤掉不需要的消费者。 因此,他们可以将工作重点放在传统的批量订单上,而无需雇用额外的客户服务来与客户打交道。

因此,对于寻求长期稳定销售业务合作伙伴的供应商来说,建立起订量是寻找他们想要合作的买家的不错选择。

起订量让业务变得更顺畅

最小起订量对买家的好处

所以我们知道起订量对供应商来说是一个有用的概念,但这是否意味着起订量对买家根本没有好处? 然而,有时最小起订量对买家或零售商也有好处。

首先,因为起订量涉及到大量的产品采购,它也带来了批量销售的许多优势。 例如,具有高 MOQ 的产品通常比没有 MOQ 的产品便宜。

此外,购买大量产品将为买家节省大量运费。 因为一起运送大量产品比一件一件运送产品更具成本效益。

此外,在产品质量方面,起订量高的产品也比起订量低的产品更值得信赖。 如果供应商为产品设置了相对较高的起订量,则意味着该产品需要大量预算来制造。 因此,供应商必须出售一定数量的产品才能使其盈利,即使这可能会将潜在买家赶走。

因此,也有一些供应商削减生产预算以降低制造的最小起订量。 因此,他们可以以较低的 MOQ 报价吸引更多客户。 但是,产品质量可能不如想象的那么好。 所以有时高起订量也是产品质量的保证。

最小起订量对买家的好处

最小起订量的应用

电子商务行业的起订量

直销是一种零售履行方法,商店不保留其销售的产品库存。 当商店销售产品时,它会从第三方购买该商品并将其直接运送给客户。 因此,许多直销商认为他们不应该与具有最小起订量的供应商合作。

然而,成功的企业总是灵活的。 如今,全球市场竞争越来越激烈,每年都有大量新玩家加入直销行业。 如果你想让你的企业在市场上脱颖而出,你需要抓住每一个机会来增加你的利润。

这就是为什么现在许多成功的直销商正在改变他们的商业方式。 这些托运人不是从供应商那里一件一件地购买商品,而是从批发供应商那里订购产品。 然后,他们将产品库存保留在自己的库存中,并通过在线商店将产品作为单个单元销售。

通过这样做,dropshippers 可以获得更多利润,因为同时购买多种产品比一件一件地购买更便宜。 另一方面,供应商也能够获得可观的利润,因为他们可以以预期的最小起订量销售产品。

在这种情况下,供应商和托运人都可以获得可观的利润,因为他们可以以更高的利润率销售产品。

电子商务行业的起订量

制造业最小起订量

在上面的部分中,我们已经提到如果某件商品缺货,那么供应商需要设置一个最小起订量来制造一批新的库存。 这适用于市场上已经存在的产品,也适用于尚未推向市场的产品。

例如,如果您是一名企业家,想要开发具有原创设计的全新产品,那么您需要找到能够根据您的设计制作优质产品的制造商。

在你找到可以生产你想要的产品的工厂或车间后,制造商会根据你的需求计算成本。 同时,供应商也会告诉您制造产品所需的起订量。 对于日常生活用品,起订量通常在 500-1000 件左右。

这个起订量听起来可能比较高,但实际上是工厂的常规起订量。 因为制造一个全新的产品意味着工厂需要准备新的员工、新的机器和大量的原材料。 如果利润不够令人满意,那么工厂将无法做这种规模的项目。

因此,以大起订量开始业务也确保了您与供应商之间的长期合作,这有助于形成良好的业务伙伴关系。

在服装厂用缝纫机缝制的人

品牌的最小起订量

最小起订量也广泛用于某些产品的品牌推广。 例如,如果您想在您的产品上印上您的企业标志,您可以要求供应商或找工厂做,但需要额外付费。 然后供应商会给你一个具体的起订量,告诉你他们可以在一包中生产多少件。

这是因为,对于贴纸或包装等廉价物品,工厂只会批量生产,以避免利润损失或劳动力浪费。 通常,包装厂单色贴纸的理想起订量是 500pcs – 1000pcs。

此外,在直销业务中,您还可以找到一些供应商为您的产品定制新设计,甚至根据您的蓝图发明创新产品。 然而,在这种情况下,最小起订量和成本会高得多。

因此,对于直销初学者来说,最好从低起订量包装选项开始进行品牌推广。

圆形sitckers集合样机的混合

履行和仓库的最小起订量

对于想要扩展业务的电子商务企业家,拥有自己的 仓库和履行中心 是一个很好的选择。 拥有自己的仓库不仅可以防止库存问题,还可以大大缩短运输时间。

但是,仓储不是免费的,还需要你投入时间和精力去工作。 因此,许多履行中心仅向受信任的客户提供服务。

如今,如果您想找到一个仓库并用它来储存您的产品,您将需要支付大量的仓储成本来管理库存。 此外,许多履行中心将要求您购买足够的库存,以便他们可以更轻松地管理库存,同时获得可行的利润。

让我们以 CJ Dropshipping 为例。 CJ Dropshipping 在美国有 2 个仓库,一个位于新泽西州,另一个位于加利福尼亚州。 这 2 个仓库对我们的客户开放,前 3 个月不收取仓储费,您可以使用它们为您的产品提供 3-5 次运输时间给美国客户。

但是,为了使用我们的服务,您的产品数量必须至少达到 100 件。 因为如果每个人都可以通过存储 1 单位的产品来使用仓库,那么对于我们的美国员工来说,库存将很难管理。

工厂工人穿过大型生产大厅并交谈

运输中的最小起订量

起订量一词有时也用于装运。 例如,如果整体重量或产品数量达到数量要求,一些物流公司会同意发货。 这在航运业中很常见,尤其是海运方式。

此外,一些物流公司为达到最小起订量的客户提供折扣运费。 因此,如果您想通过海运运送大量产品或希望从快递员那里获得一些运费折扣,您应该准备好接受他们的起订量。

日落时深海港集装箱船装卸、商业物流进出口鸟瞰图

如何与供应商协商起订量?

谈判是商业的艺术,许多直销商无法获得最优惠的价格,因为他们从不与供应商谈判。 在直销行业,起订量也是一个可以商量的术语。

有时,如果您确实想销售特定产品但不想从供应商那里批量购买,那么 dropshipper 可以与供应商协商,询问是否可以降低 MOQ。

大多数情况下,供应商不会更改起订量要求,因为供应商不知道您是真正的潜在业务合作伙伴还是只是普通客户。 但如果你能带一些因素向供应商展示你的业务规模,那么供应商就有可能破例。

您可以通过以下几种方法向供应商表明您是寻求长期合作的可靠客户。

您如何协商最小订单数量?

向供应商展示您的订单数量

让供应商实现您的业务规模的最快、最有效的方法之一就是向供应商展示您的每日或每月订单金额。 因为订单数量显示了您的业务在短时间内可以产生多少销售额。 通常,供应商更愿意与每日订单量大的客户合作。

此外,与供应商分享真实信息也有助于您赢得供应商的信任。 即使目前的业务没有达成一致,最终您还是给供应商留下了良好的印象,以备日后可能的合作。

但是,这种方法可能只对已经达到业务扩展阶段的经验丰富的直销商或电子商务企业家有帮助。 如果您只是一个尚未开始销售的业务初学者,那么很难引起供应商的注意。

明亮的销售演示幻灯片模板

向供应商索取产品样品

如果您要测试或购买新产品进行直销,那么从供应商处获取一些样品将是一个不错的选择。 因为在不知道其实际质量的情况下大量购买产品是有风险的。

大多数时候,仅看模型图片并不足以确保产品的真实性能。 因此,确定产品是否与供应商描述的一样好的最佳方法是亲自获取并检查它。 即使您无法获得实际的产品样品,至少应该让供应商向您发送视频,展示真实产品的情况。

然而,获取样品也并不容易。 毕竟,供应商设置 MOQ 的初衷是为了保证他们获得足够的利润。 而供应商在采购原材料和支付人工费用时会花费很多。 因此,寄样意味着供应商需要先花费高昂的成本制造少量的产品,而且对供应商来说可能根本没有利润。

因此,大多数供应商一开始都不愿意向零售商寄送样品,有些供应商只会向您收取高额的样品额外费用来寄送样品。

不过,如果您想与供应商协商起订量,索取样品是一个好方法。 首先,要求样品表明您对业务的认真态度。 然后如果供应商拒绝或犹豫与您分享产品样品,那么您可以询问供应商是否可以减少起订量。

寻求联合生产

如果您看到产品的潜力并想出售它,那么很可能还有其他一些与您有相同想法的直销商。 此外,对于大多数供应商来说,他们的客户是谁并不重要。 只要客户能够遵循最小起订量,他们就可以提供产品。

所以这意味着你也可以与其他需要相同产品的人合作,有时你的竞争对手也可以成为你的合作伙伴。 由于您和您的竞争对手都需要相同的产品,因此您可以一起购买该产品以达到最小起订量。

因此,供应商可以生产产品而没有损失利润的风险,并且您可以作为个体零售商获得最低起订量的产品。 这对供应商和零售商来说是一个双赢的解决方案。

另外,如果您不想分享您的商业计划或找不到合作的人,您也可以尝试询问供应商是否有其他买家订购了相同的产品。

如果已经有其他卖家能够按照 MOQ 购买该产品,您可以要求供应商使用其他人订购的批次制造更多产品。 那么有可能供应商同意了您的要求,并告诉您等待整批生产完成。

您可能需要等待额外的时间才能完成生产,因此如果您要使用此方法,则应确保您的企业可以等待生产。

人用计算机控制在智能工厂行业护航的机械臂 4

从其他平台检查最小起订量

就像您可以比较不同平台的不同供应商提供的价格一样,您也可以比较不同网站上的起订量。 因为不同的供应商与不同的工厂合作,每个工厂都有自己的最小起订量标准。

因此,您可以尝试在不同平台上与尽可能多的供应商交谈,以找到您能负担得起的理想起订量。

如果您确实想与供应商合作,但产品起订量很高。 您还可以通过提及您从其他供应商处找到的低 MOQ 与该供应商协商 MOQ。 如果其他供应商可以生产低起订量的产品,那么您的目标供应商很可能也可以生产。

此外,如果您不知道应该使用哪些平台来寻找最佳供应商,您可以查看批发平台,例如 阿里巴巴, CJ直销, 中国制造 or 全球速卖通

以上所有方法都是一些小技巧,您可以使用这些小技巧从供应商那里获得最佳报价。 如果您在商务谈判中有任何其他独特的技巧,您也可以使用它们来最大化您的商业计划。

笔记本电脑键盘上的手推车中带有购物车徽标的包裹或纸盒。

总结

MOQ 是电子商务中最重要的商业术语之一。 它经常用于买家或零售商需要从供应商处批量购买产品的情况。

帮助越来越多的托运人了解起订量的完整概念。 本文通过详细说明 MOQ 的定义、优点、缺点和在业务中的应用来解释什么是 MOQ。

我们希望这份完整的电子商务最小起订量指南能够回答您关于最小起订量的所有问题。 如果您还有其他问题,请随时联系我们的官方邮箱或 在线聊天室 告诉我们

阅读更多

CJ 可以帮助您代销这些产品吗?

是的! CJ dropshipping 能够提供免费采购和快速运输。 我们为直销和批发业务提供一站式解决方案。

如果您发现很难为特定产品找到最优惠的价格,请随时填写此表格与我们联系。

您也可以在我们的官网注册,有任何问题咨询专业代理!

想要采购最好的产品?
关于 CJ Dropshipping
CJ直销
CJ直销

您销售,我们为您采购和发货!

CJdropshipping 是一个一站式解决方案平台,提供包括采购、运输和仓储在内的各种服务。

CJ Dropshipping 的目标是帮助国际电子商务企业家取得商业成功。

Abouot CJ Dropshipping
CJ Dropshipping

CJ Dropshipping

You sell, We source and ship for you!

CJdropshipping is an all-in-one solution platform that provide various services including sourcing, shipping, and warehousing.

The goal of CJ Dropshipping is to help international eCommerce entrepreneurs to achieve business success.

What is MOQ? The Complete Guide to MOQ in Ecommerce

What is MOQ? The Complete Guide to MOQ in Ecommerce

Post Contents

If you have ever used Alibaba or other wholesale platforms, then you may have seen the term MOQ. Do you know what MOQ means and how it works? This article provides a comprehensive introduction to what MOQ is.

The following sections also present common FAQs about MOQ. Hope the information we provide can help you understand how MOQ works and how to negotiate MOQ with suppliers.

Now, let’s get started.

What Is MOQ? All You Need to Know About MOQ.

What Is an MOQ?

MOQ, which stands for Minimum Order Quantity, has been recorded in Urban Dictionary since 2008. It is the fewest quantity of products that the supplier is willing to sell to the buyer at once. For example, if a product has a MOQ of 100 units, then you have to purchase 100 pieces to get the product.

MOQs are usually mentioned in different measurements for different products. For cheap daily life products, the MOQ usually will be around 100-200 pieces. For large electronic devices, MOQ usually will be much lower.

In addition, MOQ is also widely used in branding. If retailers want to print their own logo on the product, the supplier will likely set up a MOQ for the product. Because the logo printing process can cost a lot of budget and labor, most suppliers are not willing to pay such an expense for small-scale businesses.

Why Do Suppliers Need MOQ?

MOQ Ensures the Profit of Suppliers

Most of the time, MOQ is commonly used in the wholesale business to allow suppliers to ensure their profit. Because some products only have a low profit or are simply not profitable at all when selling a single unit, and any kind of business is not supposed to engage in sales that lose money.

Moreover, there are many products that do not have sustainable stock on the market. If you want the suppliers to provide you with these products, they will need to produce a new batch of stock. This means they may need to hire more labor and spend more budget on a new project. In this case, if the suppliers don’t sell a large number of products, they will not be able to earn any profit.

On the other hand, many retailers don’t like MOQ because they prefer selling products one by one in case they can’t sell all the stock they bought. Besides, a high MOQ also limits small-scale business owners to sell some products with great potential.

Thus, setting up a low MOQ may not be an ideal option for suppliers to develop a sustainable business. And setting up a high MOQ is not good for attracting clients. So it’s important for suppliers to find a balanced MOQ that can satisfy both sides.

MOQ Ensures the Profit of Suppliers

MOQ Facilitates Business Become Smoother

Another benefit of having MOQ is it keeps a simple business model for the seller. Normally, manufacturers and factories prefer selling their products to bulk buyers instead of customers who only purchase a single product. Because individual sellers can bring endless hassles that manufacturers want to avoid.

In this model, suppliers can use MOQ to select the ideal buyers and filter out unwanted consumers. So then they can focus their work on traditional bulk orders without hiring extra customer services to deal with customers.

Therefore, for suppliers who seek long-term business partners with stable sales, setting up an MOQ is a good option to find buyers that they want to cooperate with.

MOQ Facilitates Business Become Smoother

The Benefits of MOQ for Buyers

So we know that MOQ is a helpful concept for suppliers, but does it means MOQ is not good for buyers at all? However, sometimes MOQ is also beneficial for buyers or retailers.

First of all, because MOQ involves purchasing a large number of products, it also comes with many advantages of bulk selling. For example, products with high MOQ are usually cheaper than products that don’t have MOQ.

Moreover, purchasing a large number of products will save a significant amount of shipping fees for buyers. Because shipping a large number of products altogether is way more cost-effective than shipping products one by one.

In addition, products with high MOQ are also more trustworthy than products with low MOQ in terms of product quality. If a supplier set up a relatively high MOQ for a product, it means the product needs a lot of budget to manufacture. So the supplier has to sell a certain amount to make it profitable, even if it may drive potential buyers away.

Therefore, there are also some suppliers who cut down the production budget to get lower MOQ in manufacturing. Thus, they can attract more customers with low MOQ offers. But then, the product quality may not be as good as it supposes to be. So sometimes high MOQ also is insurance for product quality.

The Benefits of MOQ for Buyers

Applications of MOQ

MOQ in Ecommerce Industry

Dropshipping is a retail fulfillment method where a store doesn’t keep the products it sells in stock. When a store sells a product, it purchases the item from a third party and has it shipped directly to the customer. Thus, many dropshippers believe that they should not work with suppliers who have MOQs.

However, successful businesses are always flexible. Nowadays, the global market is becoming more and more competitive, there are tons of new players joining the dropshipping industry every year. If you want to make your business stand out in the market, you need to take every opportunity to increase your profit.

This is why many successful dropshippers nowadays are changing their business methods. Instead of purchasing items one by one from the suppliers, these dropshippers order the products from wholesale suppliers. Then they keep the stock of the products in their own inventory and sell products through online stores as single units.

By doing this, dropshippers can earn more profit because purchasing multiple products altogether are cheaper than buying them one by one. On the other hand, the suppliers are also able to gain considerable profit because they can sell the products with the expected MOQ.

In this situation, both suppliers and dropshipper can earn considerable profit since they can sell products at a higher profit margin.

MOQ in Ecommerce Industry

MOQs in Manufacturing

In the above sections, we have mentioned that if something is out of stock, then the suppliers need to set up a MOQ to manufacture a new batch of stock. This applies to products that already exist in the market and also applies to products that haven’t been introduced to the market.

For example, if you are an entrepreneur who wants to develop brand new products with original designs, then you need to find a manufacturer who is able to make good quality products according to your design.

After you find a factory or a workshop that can make the product you want, the manufacturer will calculate how much the cost will be based on your demands. At the same time, the supplier will also tell you the MOQ needed to manufacture the product. For daily life products, the MOQ is usually around 500-1000 pieces.

This MOQ may sound relatively high but it’s actually a regular MOQ for the factory. Because making a brand new product means the factory need to prepare new staff, new machine, and plenty of raw material. If the profit is not satisfying enough, then the factory will not be able to do a project on this scale.

Therefore, starting the business with a large amount of MOQ also ensures long-term cooperation between you and the supplier, which helps form a good business partnership.

Man sewing on a sewinghine at a clothing factory

MOQs in Branding

MOQ is also widely used in branding certain products. For example, if you want to print your business logo on your products, you can ask the supplier or find a factory to do it by spending extra fees. Then the supplier will give you a specific MOQ number to tell you how many pieces they can produce in one pack.

This is because, for cheap items like stickers or packaging, factories will only produce them in bulk to avoid loss in profit or waste of labor. Normally the ideal MOQ for single-color stickers from a packaging factory is 500pcs – 1000pcs.

Besides, in dropshipping business, you can also find some suppliers to customize your products with new designs or even invent innovative products according to your blueprint. However in this case the MOQ and the costs will be way much higher.

So for dropshipping beginners, it’s better to start with low MOQ packaging options for branding.

Mix of round sitckers collection mockup

MOQs in Fulfillment and Warehouses

For eCommerce entrepreneurs who want to scale their businesses, having their own warehouses and fulfillment centers is a great option. Having your own warehouse not only prevents stock problems but also significantly facilitates shipping time.

However, warehousing is not free and it also needs you to invest time and effort to work. Therefore, many fulfillment centers only provide their service to trusted clients.

Nowadays, if you want to find a warehouse and use it to stock your products, you will need to pay a significant amount of warehousing costs for managing the stock. Moreover, many fulfillment centers will require your to purchase enough stock so they can manage the stock easier while having a feasible profit.

Let’s take CJ Dropshipping as an example. CJ Dropshipping got 2 warehouses in the US, one is located in New Jersey and the other is located in California. These 2 warehouses are open to our clients and there is no warehousing fee in the first 3 months, you can use them to have 3-5 shipping times for your products to US customers.

However, in order to use our service, your product quantity must reach 100 units at least. Because if everyone can use the warehouse by storing 1 unit of product, then the stock would be hard to manage for our US staff.

Factory workers walking through large production hall and having conversation

MOQs in Shipping

The term MOQ sometimes is used in the shipment too. For example, some logistics companies will agree to ship some products if the overall weight or product quantity reached the number requirement. This is common in the shipping industry, especially for sea shipping methods.

Moreover, some logistics companies provide discounted shipping prices for clients who reached their MOQ. Thus, if you want to ship large cargo of products by sea shipping or want some shipping discount from the courier, you should be prepared to take their MOQ.

Container ship loading and unloading in deep sea port at sunset, aerial view of business logistic import and export

How to Negotiate MOQ with Suppliers?

Negotiation is the art of business, many dropshippers can’t get the best price because they never negotiate with the supplier. In the dropshipping industry, MOQ is also a negotiable term.

Sometimes if you really want to sell a specific product but do not want to buy in bulk from the supplier, then the dropshipper can negotiate with the supplier to ask if can make the MOQ lower.

Most of the time, a supplier will not change the MOQ requirement because the supplier does not know if you are really a potential business partner or just a regular customer. But if you can bring some factors to show the supplier your business scale, then it is possible for the supplier to make an exception.

Here are several methods that you can do to show the supplier that you are a reliable client who seeks long-term cooperation.

How Do You Negotiate a Minimum Order Quantity?

Show Your Order Quantity To the Supplier

One of the fastest and most effective ways to let the supplier realize your business scale is to show your daily or monthly order amount to the supplier. Because the order quantity shows how many sales your business can generate within a short period of time. And usually, suppliers prefer to work with clients with high daily order quantities.

Besides, sharing true information with the supplier will also help you win the trust of the supplier. Even if the current business does not come to a mutual agreement, in the end, you still left a good impression on the supplier for possible future cooperation.

However, this method may only be helpful for experienced dropshippers or eCommerce entrepreneurs who have already reached the scaling stage of their business. If you are just a business beginner who hasn’t started to get any sales yet, it would be hard to get the supplier’s attention.

Bright sale presentation slide template

Ask the Supplier for a Product Sample

If you are going to test or purchase new products for dropshipping, then it would be a good choice to get some samples from the supplier. Because it is risky to purchase a product in large numbers without knowing its actual quality.

Most of the time, looking at the model pictures is not enough to ensure real product performance. So the best way to find out if a product is good as the supplier described is physically getting it and checking it. Even if you are not able to get an actual product sample, at least should have the supplier send you a video showing how the real product is.

However, getting samples is not easy as well. After all, the original purpose that suppliers set up MOQ is to ensure they got enough profit. And it will cost a lot for the supplier when purchasing raw materials and paying for labor. Therefore, sending samples means the supplier needs to spend a high cost in manufacturing a small number of products first, and it may not be profitable for the supplier at all.

Thus, most suppliers are not willing to send samples to retailers in the beginning, and some suppliers will only send samples by charging you a high extra fee for the sample.

Still, asking for a sample is a good method if you want to negotiate the MOQ with the supplier. Firstly, requiring samples shows your serious attitude towards the business. Then if the supplier refuses or hesitates to share samples of the products with you, then you can ask if the supplier can reduce the MOQ.

Seeking a Combined Production

If you see the potential in a product and want to sell it, it is highly possible that are also some other dropshippers who think the same as you do. Also, for most suppliers, it doesn’t really matter who their client is. As long as the client is able to follow the MOQ, they can provide the product.

So this means you can also cooperate with other people who need the same product, and sometimes your competitor can also be your partner. Since both you and your competitor need the same product, you can purchase the product together to reach the MOQ.

Thus, the supplier can produce the product without the risk of losing profit, and you can get the product with a lower MOQ as an individual retailer. This can be a win-win solution for suppliers and retailers.

In addition, if you don’t want to share your business plan or can’t find anyone to cooperate with, you can also try asking the supplier if there are other buyers who ordered the same product.

If there are already some other sellers who are able to purchase the product following the MOQ, you can ask the supplier to manufacture some more products with the batch other people ordered. Then it is possible that the supplier agrees to your request and tells you to wait for the whole batch to complete production.

You may need to wait for extra time for the production to finish, so you should make sure that your business can wait for the production if you are going to use this method.

Human use computer to control the robot arms working in procuction convoyed in the smart factory industry 4

Check the MOQ from Other Platforms

Just like you can compare the price offered by different suppliers from different platforms, you can also compare the MOQ on different websites. Because different suppliers work with different factories and every factory got its own MOQ standard.

Thus, you can try to talk with as many suppliers as possible on different platforms to find an ideal MOQ you can afford.

If there is a supplier you really want to work with, but the product MOQ is high. You can also negotiate MOQ with this supplier by mentioning the low MOQ that you find from other suppliers. If other suppliers can produce the product with low MOQ, it is highly possible that your target supplier can do as well.

In addition, if you do not know which platforms you should use to find the best suppliers, you can check wholesale platforms such as Alibaba, CJ Dropshipping, MadeinChina or AliExpress

All the above methods are some small tricks that you can use to get the best offer from suppliers. If you have any other unique tricks of your own in business negotiation, you can also use them to maximize your business plan.

Parcel or paper cartons with a shopping cart logo in a trolley on a laptop keyboard.

Summary

MOQ is one of the most important business terms in eCommerce. It is frequently used in cases where buyers or retailers need to purchase the products in bulk from the suppliers.

To help more and more dropshippers understand the full concept of MOQ. This article explains what MOQ is by elaborating on its definition, benefits, drawbacks, and applications in business.

We hope that this complete guide to MOQ in eCommerce answers all your questions about MOQ. If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact our official email or online chatroom to let us know.

READ MORE

Can CJ Help You Dropship These products?

Yes! CJ dropshipping is able to provide free sourcing and fast shipping. We provide a one-stop solution for both dropshipping and wholesale businesses.

If you find it hard to source the best price for a specific product, feel free to contact us by filling out this form.

You can also register on our official website to consult professional agents with any questions!

Want to source the best products?
Abouot CJ Dropshipping
CJ Dropshipping
CJ Dropshipping

You sell, We source and ship for you!

CJdropshipping is an all-in-one solution platform that provide various services including sourcing, shipping, and warehousing.

The goal of CJ Dropshipping is to help international eCommerce entrepreneurs to achieve business success.